Monday, August 27, 2018

Energy Cabinet Secretary Hon. Charles Keter accompanied by Energy Chief Administrative Secretary Hon. Hon. Simon K. Kachapin -CAS, Energy Principal Secretary Dr. Eng Joseph Njoroge, heads of Energy state agencies and ministry officials during the hand over ceremony of a Task Force report on Review of contracts between the Independent Power Producers (IPPs) and Government on the basis of economic changes in the Power Purchase Agreements (PPAs).
The committee was formed following a directive by H.E President Uhuru Kenyatta during the Energy summit at State House where he directed that all contracts be reviewed.
It was chaired by Prof. Izael Pereira Da Silva, Strathmore Deputy Vice Chancellor – Research and Innovation and Director of Strathmore Energy Research Centre (SERC).
The mandate of the committee was to recommend appropriate policy action that will enable the Government achieve value for money on all PPAs signed to date.

Sunday, August 26, 2018

Project Set to add more Clean and Affordable power into the National Grid

As the country aims to diversify its sources of power, the Garissa 55MW solar power plant project being implemented by the Rural Electrification Authority - Kenya is set to add more clean and affordable power into the National grid and the project is scheduled for completion by end of September.
During an inspection tour of the project by the Energy Cabinet Secretary Hon. Charles Keter and the Principal Secretary Dr. Eng Joseph Njoroge